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.BRE'AKIN'G | Law & Rules
NEWS Updates

1. What do you know about the process the Commission must follow to implement
rule changes?

2. What new rule changes have you heard about?
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LEARNING OBJECTIVES

By the end of this section, you should be able to describe updates to License Law and
Commission rules that became effective on July 1, 2023.

TERMINOLOGY

Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH): The Office of Administrative Hearings is an
independent quasi-judicial agency that was established to ensure that the functions of
rulemaking, investigation, advocacy, and adjudication are not combined in the
administrative process. OAH performs legal analysis and administrative and technical
work in the review, compilation, and publication of the NC Register and the NC
Administrative Code. It also provides administrative support and legal counsel to the
Rules Review Commission.

Public Comment Period: The time period after proposed rule text is published that
affords interested parties an opportunity to express support or opposition for the
proposed rule. The comments can be submitted to the Commission during a 60 day
comment period, or at a public hearing held shortly after the proposed rule text is
published.

Rule: A rule is adopted by administrative agencies to clarify laws and the processes for
compliance. Rules have the effect of law. The North Carolina Real Estate Commission
rules are published in the North Carolina Administrative Code which is the official
publication of the rules that govern the state’s agencies, boards, and commissions.

Rules Review Commission (RRC): The executive agency created by the General
Assembly in 1986 charged with reviewing and approving rules adopted by state
agencies. The Rules Review Commission’s substantive review procedures are set by the
General Assembly and are codified in the Administrative Procedure Act, Chapter 150B,
Articles 1 and 2A.

Statute: Statutes are laws which are passed by the North Carolina General Assembly.
The General Assembly consists of the Senate and House of Representatives.

THE RULEMAKING PROCESS

Rulemaking is the process by which the Commission clarifies laws through the adoption,
amendment, or repealing of rules. During permanent rulemaking, the Commission
proposes rule language and sends it to the Office of Administrative Hearings (hereafter
known as “OAH”). OAH publishes the proposed rule text in the North Carolina Register
which provides notices to interested parties that the Commission has started the
process to amend, adopt, or repeal a rule.
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Once the text is published, interested parties have two opportunities to comment on
the proposed language. The first opportunity is the public comment period. Public
comments can be submitted to the Commission during a 60 day comment period. The
second opportunity is during a public hearing that is held shortly after the proposed
rule text is published. During the public comment period or public hearing, interested
parties have the opportunity to express support or opposition for the proposed rule.

Once the comment period and public hearing have passed, the Commission must
consider all of the comments and decide whether to amend, adopt, or reject the rule
text. If the Commission rejects the rule text, the rulemaking process will end. However,
if the Commission makes a substantial change to the rule text based upon the
comments, then the revised proposed rule text is republished and another 60 day
comment period begins. Further, if the Commission adopts the rule text as written, the
proposed rule is sent to the Rules Review Commission (hereafter known as “RRC”).

Once RRC is in receipt of the proposed rules, the proposed rules are reviewed to ensure
the Commission has followed the rulemaking requirements, the rule text establishes a
purpose with clear language, and the Commission has the legal authority to make the
rule. During the review of the rule, RRC can either approve or object to the rule(s). If
the rule(s) are objected, the Commission has the authority to either revise the proposed
rule or end the rulemaking process. However, if RRC approves a Commission rule, it is
entered in the North Carolina Administrative Code.

Basically, the rulemaking process takes several months. The Commission has to ensure
that rulemaking adheres to the rules required by OAH, analyze all of the comments
received during the public comment period/public hearing, and evaluate how the
amendment, adoption, or repealing of rule text will affect stakeholders (i.e. brokers,
brokerages, education providers, and instructors) prior to the RRC approving the rule.

Morth Caralina
Real Estate Commission

Gathering of Commission Staff Drafts Rules
Collaborative Members Direct for Commission
Ideas from Staff Staff which Rule Members to
& Industry Proposals to Pursue Approve

North Carolina
il L ‘ Real E:\ta'le C_nn'_umu_.mn
Rules Published - 60 Day Public Commission Final OAH
by Office of Comment Period Members Vote
Administrative with Input from on Rule
Hearings Stakeholders Adoption

Rule
Approval
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BEST PRACTICE: Brokers can subscribe to the Commission’s
mailing list to receive notice of rulemaking at
https://www.ncrec.gov/Home/Subscribe.

COMMISSION RULE CHANGES EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2023

The Commission revised several rules with an effective date of July 1, 2023, in Chapters
58A, 58B, and 58H. The changes that directly impact brokers will be summarized in this
section.

The rule revisions are reprinted at the end of this section. Also, all revised rules can be
viewed on the Commission’s website.

Rule 58A .1708: Equivalent Credit

Purpose of the Rule Change

Rule 58A .1708 was changed in part to save brokers the cost of $50.00 to submit a
course for approval because the education provider did not do so. North Carolina now
provides an opportunity for brokers to take their courses in a variety of instructional
methods (e.g. blended, distance, synchronous, etc.) that would meet their educational
needs, which previously did not exist. There are over 600 different approved CE
electives available to NC brokers via various delivery methods.

Elimination of this Rule will also reduce the number of brokers going inactive because
equivalent credit was not granted for last minute applications and will also generally
reduces confusion regarding continuing education.

Prior to July 1, 2023, Rule 58A .1708 permitted brokers to submit an equivalent credit
waiver to receive equivalent credit for continuing education elective courses for:

e teaching a Commission Update Course,

e teaching a Commission approved continuing education elective for
the first time any given continuing education elective credit is
taught,

e completing an unapproved course that the Commission finds
equivalent to the elective course component of the continuing
education requirement in Rule 58A .0407(a),

e developing a continuing education course approved by the
Commission,

e authoring a real estate textbook, or

e authoring a scholarly article on a real estate topic published in a
professional journal or periodical.
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Rule 58A .1708 was amended on July 1, 2023, to eliminate submission of equivalent
credit waivers for continuing education elective credit courses. The Rule now states:

a)

b)

The Commission shall award an approved instructor continuing education
credit for teaching a Commission Update course. An approved instructor
seeking continuing education credit for teaching a Commission Update
Course shall submit a form available on the Commission’s website, that
requires the approved instructor to set forth the:

1) approved instructor’s name, license number, instructor number,

address, telephone number, and email address;

2) Update course number;

3) education provider’s name and number;

4) education provider’s address; and

5) date the course was taught.

The Commission shall award a broker continuing education elective credit
the first time an approved continuing education elective course is taught by
the broker. A broker seeking continuing education credit under this
Paragraph shall submit a form, available on the Commission’s website, that
requires the broker to set forth the:

1) broker’s name, license number, address, telephone number, and

email address;

2) course title;

3) course numbers;

4) education provider’s name and number;

5) education provider’s address; and

6) date the course was taught.

The Commission may award continuing education elective credit for
developing a continuing education elective course the first time it is
approved by the Commission pursuant to 21 NCAC 58H .0401. However, a
broker shall only receive credit for the year in which the continuing
education elective course is approved. A broker seeking continuing education
credit under this Paragraph shall submit a form, available on the
Commission’s website that requires the broker to set forth the:
1) broker’s name, license number, address, telephone number, and
email address;
2) the course title;
3) the course number;
4) the date of course approval; and
5) a fifty dollar (550.00) fee for each course for which the broker seeks
credit.

In order for any application for equivalent credit to be considered and credits applied
to the current licensing period, a complete application, the appropriate fee, and all
supporting documents shall be received by the Commission no later than 5:00 p.m. on

June 17.
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Anticipated Impact to Brokers

The impact brokers will incur is minimal. Although the Commission is no longer taking
waivers for continuing education courses, brokers have a multitude of courses they can
take to receive continuing education elective credit. Additionally, the courses that the
brokers must take going forward, are already approved continuing education courses by
the Commission.

Best Practices for Compliance

As a best practice, brokers may wish to search continuing education courses that are
approved on the Commission’s website. Brokers can find courses by following these
steps:

go to www.ncrec.gov;

click on the Education menu;

click on Search CE Course Schedule; and
click on Search Providers.

NOTE: A full listing of courses currently scheduled across the state will be displayed. A
broker may wish to enter search criteria, such as education provider, instructor, or city
for a narrowed list. The broker should contact the Education Provider directly to
register for a course.

y ] Interactive News Reporting
Interactive News Reporting

Can | get any CE credit for CCIM®
courses, appraisal courses, or courses
offered by the REALTOR®
Associations such as GRI®?

Poll Everywhere

a) No. CE credit will no longer be given for any of these courses.

b) You might, but you are going to have to make a special request to get CE credit.

c) Any course you take that lasts at least 4 hours provides CE credit.

d) Yes. Many of these courses are already approved. They just have to be submitted
by the provider and you don’t have to file a special request or pay $50 if NCREC
has approved them.
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Takin’ it to the Streets:

Ashley, a broker with XYZ Homes,
lives in Oklahoma. On June 6, 2023,
Ashley certified that she had an
active license in Oklahoma when she
renewed her license. Therefore,
under Commission rules in effect at
that time, Ashley did not have to take
any continuing education in North
Carolina to keep her NC license on
active status.

On May 17, 2024, she wants to certify that her license in Oklahoma is still on
active status while renewing her NC license so that she does not have to take NC
continuing education. Can she still do that?

Does it matter that Ashley is actively licensed in another state?

Does it matter what education she completed in Oklahoma?

Does it matter that she doesn’t live in NC?

Rule 58A .1711: Continuing Education Required of Nonresident
Brokers

Purpose of the Rule Change

The Commission repealed this Rule because nonresident brokers have the ability to
easily take all of their North Carolina continuing education (CE) courses due to the
variety of instructional methods now available to brokers.

Additionally, nonresident brokers will benefit from the education provided in the
mandatory Update Course to ensure their continued compliance with License Law and
Commission rule requirements in North Carolina.

Basically, all brokers with a North Carolina real estate license should:

e be subject to the same CE requirements;

e show competence regarding NC License Law and Commission rules;

e not rely on licensure or course completion in another state to indicate
their competence in NC; and

e use the various instructional methods offered by NC certified education
providers to meet the CE requirements in NC.
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Rule 58A .1711 was repealed by the Commission on July 1, 2023. Prior to July 1, 2023,
nonresident NC brokers could meet CE requirements for renewal, if they:

e certified during license renewal that they had an active license in another
state; or

e completed the Commission-prescribed Update course and Commission-
approved continuing education elective course; or

e completed two Commission-approved continuing education elective
courses.

Effective July 1, 2023, nonresident brokers must now comply with North Carolina CE
requirements as specified in Rule 58A .1702, Continuing Education Requirements.
Essentially, Rule 58A .1702 requires all brokers to take eight credit hours of NCREC-
approved real estate continuing education courses within one year prior to the
expiration of their license as follows:
1) four credit hours of elective courses; and
2) four hours of either:
A) the “General Update Course,” or
B) for a broker with BIC Eligible status, “the Broker-in-Charge
Update Course” in lieu of the “General Update Course.”

Anticipated Impact to Brokers

Nonresident brokers will be slightly impacted due to this Rule being repealed. Beginning
July 1, 2023, nonresident brokers who wish to renew their NC license on active status
will have to complete a mandatory NCREC Update course (GENUP or BICUP based upon
their license status) and a 4-hour NCREC-approved CE elective by June 10, 2024.
Therefore, nonresident brokers will no longer be able to utilize the CE requirements
from another state to certify they have met the CE requirements in North Carolina.

Best Practices for Compliance
The following best practices are instrumental for nonresident brokers:

e check your license status on the Commission’s website;

e complete the appropriate Update Course for your license status (e.g.
General Update/GENUP or Broker-in-Charge/BICUP Update); and

e complete a 4-hour NCREC-approved CE elective.

NOTE: Nonresident brokers must complete their CE requirements by June 10 of each
license year according to Rule 58A .1702.
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RPOADS (Residential Property and Owners’ Association
Disclosure Statement)

Interactive News Reporting

1. When a listing broker reviews the
Residential Property and Owners’
Association Disclosure Statement (RPOADS)
and knows a seller’s statement is incorrect,
iy what should the broker do?

a) Change the RPOADS and make the necessary corrections.

b) Listing brokers do not need to review the RPOADS.

c) Discuss the discrepancy with the seller, encourage them to correct it, and
make additional disclosure if necessary.

d) The broker does not need to do anything since the RPOADS contains the
seller’s representations.

2. Which property transfer is exempt from providing an RPOADS?

a) Transfers involving the first sale of a dwelling never inhabited

b) Transfers of residential rental property when the owner has never occupied
the property

c) Out of state sellers who do not currently live in the property

d) Transfers where the seller informs the buyer in writing that they are not
providing the document and clearly states that the property is being
transferred “as is”
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Rule 58A .0114: Residential Property and Owners’ Association
Disclosure Statement

Purpose of the Rule Change

The purpose of the rule change by the Commission was two-fold. First, the Commission
wanted to remove the actual RPOADS form from the actual rule language so rule
changes would not be necessary to adjust RPOADS formatting and accessibility. Second,
the Commission incorporated the requirement for property owners to answer additional
questions and provide additional disclosures that reflect the condition of the property,
such as:

flood status,

historic registration/designation,

private well testing, and

elevator systems relating to the property.

On July 1, 2023, the Commission amended Rule 58A .0114 and the RPOADS.

Rule 58A .0114(a) requires every owner of real property that is subject to a transfer of
the type governed by Chapter 47E of the General Statute to complete the RPOADS and
furnish a copy to the buyer in a timely manner.

The Residential Property Disclosure Act in Chapter 47E of the General Statutes requires
that most residential property owners complete a disclosure form to give to prospective
purchasers. However, the Act is considered a voluntary disclosure law. In NC, the seller
has the option to sell a property without making any representations as to the condition
of the property or whether a previous owner severed the mineral, oil, and gas rights.
Basically, a seller has three options while completing the RPOADS and Mineral and Oil
and Gas Rights Mandatory Disclosure Statement (MOG) disclosure statements. They can
check “Yes,” “No,” or “No Representation.”

Further, N.C.G.S. 847E-8 indicates that brokers have a duty to inform clients of their
rights and obligations under the Statute and ensure their statutory compliance.

Anticipated Impact to Brokers

Although the language in this Rule appears to be substantially different; the required
content remains the same and in correlation with the disclosure requirements of
N.C.G.S. 847E-4. The Commission expects brokers to provide guidance to their clients
while they are completing the additional disclosures (e.g. flood status, historic
registration/designation, private well testing, and elevator systems relating to the
property) that are on the revised RPOADS.

© 2023 NC Real Estate Commission Page 114



Best Practices for Compliance

As a best practice, brokers should educate their owner-clients regarding their rights
and obligations to provide specific disclosure statements under N.C.G.S. §47E-4. Also,
a listing agent should:

e furnish the RPOADS form to a residential seller-client and inform the client
of their duty to complete the form and deliver it to a prospective buyer,
e not advise a residential seller-client on how to answer questions, and
o If the client has questions, they should consult with an attorney.
e educate the owner on the broker’s mandatory obligation to discover and
disclose material facts.

In an effort to ensure that brokers comprehend their statutory obligation to furnish the
RPOADS to their residential seller-client and inform their client of their statutory duty
to deliver it to a prospective buyer, let’s review the amended RPOADS in detail.

NOTE: The RPOADS is created by the North Carolina Real Estate Commission and is
available for download from the Commission’s website at www.ncrec.gov. It has also
been reprinted at the end of this section for your review.

In 2018, the Commission wrote an article entitled, “Sellers Required by Law to Provide
Two Disclosure Statements to Buyers,” to assist brokers with comprehending their
duties/obligations under Real Estate License Law.

. Questions to Consider
Common Questions & Answers

Where does a broker get the
About the RPOADS RPOADS and MOG disclosure

statements? The RPOADS and MOG
disclosure statements are created
by the Commission. Therefore,
brokers may retrieve the forms from
the Commission’s website by
clicking Forms and then Consumer
Forms.
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Does the Residential Property Disclosure Act only apply to owners of residential real
property? Yes. The law applies to each owner having a recorded present or future
interest in a residential property subject to the law. The Residential Property Disclosure
Act applies to owners who are transferring real property consisting of one-to-four
dwelling units:

e by sale or exchange, including transfers by installment land contract;

e by an option contract, and

e by lease with an option to purchase, except where the lessee occupies

or intends to occupy the dwelling

whether the transaction is accomplished with or without the assistance of a broker. The
law also applies to a “For Sale By Owner”(FBSO) whether a real estate broker represents
the owner or not unless the transaction is listed as exempt in General Statutes §47E-2.

What are the general duties of a real estate broker? The general duty of a real estate
broker is to inform the owner of their rights and obligations to provide prospective
buyers the RPOADS, MOG, and owners’ association and mandatory covenants
statements under General Statutes 847E-2. Additionally, the broker should not advise
the seller-client on how to answer the questions. Further, the broker should inform
their client of the broker’s mandatory duty to discover and disclose material facts to
all parties in a transaction.

What are the basic statutory duties of a listing agent? The Residential Property
Disclosure Act specifically charges a listing broker with the duty to inform the owner
of the owner’s rights and obligations under this law. To fulfill this duty, the listing
broker should:

e advise the seller whether the seller has an obligation to provide
prospective buyers with the disclosure statements in that particular
transaction and, if so, perform the listed acts,

e advise the seller of the seller’s statutory duties, and

e advise the seller that the buyer has a three-day right to terminate a
sales contract when the seller or their agent fails to deliver the
disclosure statements to the buyer or their agent prior to or at the
time the buyer makes an offer.

The listing agent must also explain that the buyer does not have any recourse if the
disclosure statements are timely delivered or the buyer agrees that the RPOADS are not
necessary. Although a buyer may waive the receipt of the RPOADS, a MOG disclosure
form must still be provided by the seller, if applicable.

Are the listing agents the only brokers with statutory duties under the Residential
Property Disclosure Act? No. A buyer agent has the duty to inform a prospective buyer
of their right to terminate a contract if the seller does not provide the disclosure
statements prior to or at the time an offer is made. Also, a buyer agent should explain
the disclosure law to prospective buyers prior to viewing any properties so they can
anticipate receipt of the disclosure statements.

However, the buyer agent must also clarify that the prospective buyer has no special
rights or recourse under the law if it is delivered in a timely manner.
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Additional Duties for Brokers: Listing Agent

The Commission expects brokers to adhere to the Residential Property Disclosure Act
to ensure that residential property sellers are providing disclosure statements to
prospective buyers.

Therefore, listing agents have additional duties under the Act such as:

providing the seller with copies of the RPOADS and MOG disclosure forms
as required under the law,
explaining to their seller the broker’s duty to discover and disclose
material facts that they know or reasonably should know regarding the
property, even if the seller chooses not to disclose this information or
makes no representation,
reviewing the RPOADS and MOG, inquiring about unanswered questions
and questions with “Yes” answers, and disclosing material facts to buyers
and/or their agents,
assisting the seller with assessing the property and properly completing
the form,

o the listing agent must not advise the seller-client on how to

complete the RPOADS

delivering a copy of the completed disclosure statements to prospective
buyers and/or their brokers,
monitoring the property to ensure continued accuracy of the information
and assisting the seller with updating the form for accuracy, when/if
needed,
if working with a buyer, explaining the statements and instructional
section to buyers, and
obtaining from the buyer or selling agent, sighed copies of the disclosure
statements when the buyer submits an offer and retain the documents in
the transaction records.

A listing agent will not be considered improperly engaging in the practice of law if
they advise their seller-client of:

the applicability of the law,

their duty under the law,

consequences of their failure to perform their duties, and
the seller’s options for completing the disclosure statements.
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Additional Duties for Brokers: Seller’s Subagent Working with a Buyer

A seller’s subagent that is working with a prospective buyer also has additional duties
to ensure adherence to the Residential Property Disclosures Act. The seller’s subagent
should:

e obtain the completed disclosure statements from the listing agent/
brokerage and deliver the statements to the prospective buyer, and
document the date and time of delivery,

e review the RPOADS and MOG, inquire about unanswered questions and
questions with “Yes” answers, and share this information with buyer,

e review the instructional section and explain the disclosure statements to
the prospective buyer, and

e obtain the buyer’s signature on the disclosure statement, retain a copy
and provide it to the seller and/or their listing agent at the time a
prospective buyer makes an offer.

Additional Duties for Brokers: Buyer Agent

A buyer agent has the duty to explain to a prospective buyer their rights under the Act.
In addition, they should:

e obtain completed disclosure statements from the listing broker/brokerage
and deliver it to the buyer with a note that specifies the date and time
that it was delivered,

e review the RPOADS and MOG, inquire about unanswered questions and
questions with “Yes” answers, and share this information with buyer,

e have the buyer sign the disclosure statements, retain copies in the
broker’s transaction records, and return copies with the buyer’s signature
to the listing broker at the time the offer is submitted, and

e assist the buyer in assessing the disclosure statements about the property,
identify areas of concern, and recommend that the buyer obtain
appropriate inspections of the property.

Delivery of Disclosure Statements
As mentioned previously, the seller

. E————

. ’ must deliver the disclosure statements

# to the prospective buyer no later than
-‘.1.—.. the time the buyer makes an offer to

purchase, exchange or option the
property or exercises an option
pursuant to a lease with an option to
purchase. Additionally, the form must
be signed by the buyer and not the
buyer’s agent. However, the disclosure statements can be delivered by the buyer agent.

i
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The Statute is not specific regarding the permitted methods of delivery. However,
delivering the disclosure statements in person, including them as an attachment to a
property description in the Multiple Listing Services (“MLS”), or sending them via
electronic correspondence is allowed.

The Residential Property Disclosure Act and Material Facts
The Residential Property Disclosure Act does
not impact a broker’s duty under License Law
and Commission rules to affirmatively
discover and disclose material facts to all
parties in the transaction, regardless of their
brokerage role.

Therefore, if a seller makes “No
Representation” regarding the existence of
material facts on the property, or the seller is -
selling the property “As Is,” but the broker is aware or reasonably should be aware of
the existence of material facts, the broker must disclose this information to prospective
purchasers. A broker must disclose this information even if the seller indicates they do
not want the information shared.

Does the Residential Property Disclosure Act apply to
- brokers who are also sellers? Yes. The Residential
Property Disclosure Act applies to brokers as well if they
are transferring personal real property consisting of one
to four dwelling units unless an exception is met under
El the Act. Although brokers can check “Yes,” “No,” or “No
. Representation” on the RPOADS when selling their own
property, they must still disclose material facts that
they know or reasonably should know exists.

The Commission has written an article entitled, “You Are A
Broker and Selling Your Own Home” that provides information
on what brokers must do when selling their own residential
property.
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Seller Obligations

In conclusion, a seller’s obligation to prospective buyers is very limited. Essentially,
sellers cannot participate in fraud to induce a prospective buyer to purchase a property
without potential legal repercussions. However, under the law, a seller must provide
prospective buyers with the disclosure statements but are not mandated to disclose
any problems with the property on the disclosure statements.

NOTE: A broker who fails to fulfill their duties, under the Residential Property
Disclosure Act, may be in violation of the Real Estate License Law and Commission rules
by engaging in unworthy, or incompetent behavior that may endanger the public.

Takin’ it to the Streets:

Stan is in the armed forces and a licensed
real estate broker. While on active duty in
Miami, Stan went home to visit his family
and friends. He failed to get authorization
from his commanding officer to leave the
base. Once Stan returned back to the base,
he was arrested and later court martialed
for taking unauthorized leave. He was
sentenced to 30 days in the Brig and
forfeiture of a month’s pay.

Does Stan have to report the military court-martial to the Commission?

a) No. Stan has not been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor.

b) Yes. Stan must report the military court-martial conviction to the Commission
in accordance with Rule 58A .0113.

c) No. Stan was not disciplined by an occupational licensing agency.

d) Yes. Stan must report the military court-martial because he had to spend 30
days in the Brig and forfeit a month’s pay.
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Technical Rule
Changes

News (%

Technical Rule Changes

The following rules were amended by the Commission to either:
e add,
e delete, and/or
e revise verbiage for clarity.

Due to the minimal changes in the rule language, a brief overview of each rule that was
impacted is referenced below for your review.

In addition to the brief overview, the Commission will discuss at the end of each
substantial rule change, the following:

e the purpose of the rule change;

e the anticipated impact of the rule; and

e the recommended best practices to ensure brokers adhere to the rule
requirements.

Rule 58A .0113: Reporting Criminal Convictions and Disciplinary
Actions

Prior to July 1, 2023, this Rule did not require brokers to report military court-martial

convictions on the Criminal Conviction Disciplinary Action Reporting Form. However,

the Commission amended this Rule effective July 1, 2023, to clarify that military court-
martial convictions are reportable offenses.
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The new Rule states that brokers shall file with the Commission
a Criminal Conviction Disciplinary Action Reporting Form
within 60 days of:

1) a final judgment, order, or disposition of any felony
or misdemeanor conviction;

2) a disciplinary action or entering into a conciliation
agreement or consent order with a governmental
agency or occupational licensing agency;

3) afinal judgement, order, or disposition of a military
court-martial conviction; or

4) a notarial commission sanction pursuant to G.S. 10B-60.

Rule 58A .0301: License Application

The Commission amended this Rule on July 1, 2023, to clarify that an individual is
required to report military court-martial convictions in their license application when
applying for a real estate license.

Rule 58A .0301(a) indicates an individual seeking licensure as a real estate broker shall
submit a license application that is available on the Commission’s website and shall
include the applicant’s:

1) legal name;

2) mailing, physical, and email address;

3) telephone number;

4) social security number and date of birth;

5) qualification for license application;

6) real estate license history;

7) places of residence for the past seven years;

8) employment history for the past three years;

9) criminal offenses, military court-martial convictions, professional license
disciplinary actions. Including the jurisdiction, file number, and explanation
of each offense;

10) liens or unpaid judgments;

11)certifications the applicant has read the Real Estate Licensing in North
Carolina brochure that is available on the Commission’s website; and

12)declaration and signature.

(b) In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the applicant shall submit:
1) the license application fee pursuant to Rule .0302 of this Section; and
2) a criminal records report from a designated criminal reporting service
obtained within six months prior to application submission.
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Rule 58A .0505: Reinstatement of a License

Rule 58A .0505 was amended on July 1, 2023. Subsection (b)(8) requires individuals to
include a criminal record report from a designated criminal reporting service obtained
within six months prior to application and subsection (c)(2) requires the disclosure of
military court-martial convictions when they are seeking to reinstate their license.

Historically, Rule 58A .0505(e) required brokers who have been expired, revoked, or
surrendered more than two years to submit an original license application, fee, and
take the NC Real Estate License examination.

Rule 58A .0505(e) now requires brokers that have been expired, revoked, or
surrendered for more than two years to reinstate their license by submitting a license
application and application fee pursuant to N.C.G.S. §93A-4 and Rules .0301, .0302,
and .0511.

Essentially, this Rule provides nonresident brokers the same option as brokers who
reside within North Carolina when seeking to reinstate their license. Therefore,
nonresident brokers now have the choice to reinstate their license by electing to either
pass the “State” section of the NC Real Estate License examination or be issued a NC
broker license on provisional status.

Rule 58A .1705: Attendance and Participation Requirements

Rule 58A .1705(a)(2) and (7) was amended by the Commission on July 1, 2023. The
Commission replaced the term course sponsor with the term education provider to the
Rule language. Therefore, this amendment clarified that education providers are
individuals or entities that are certified to offer approved continuing education courses.

Rule 58B .0202: Public Offering Statement

The Commission amended this Rule to include electronic mail as a means of delivery
for a timeshare cancellation notice pursuant to N.C.G.S. §893A-45(b).

The NOTICE in the Public Offering Statement now states:

Under North Carolina Law, you may cancel your timeshare purchase
without a penalty within five days after signing your contract. To
cancel your timeshare purchase, you must mail, electronically mail,
or hand deliver written notice of your desire to cancel your purchase
to (name and address of project). If you choose to mail your
cancellation notice, the North Carolina Real Estate Commission
recommends that you use registered or certified mail and that you
retain your postal receipt as proof of the date your notice was mailed.
Upon cancellation, all payments will be refunded to you.
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LICENSE LAW AND COMMISSION RULES

The Commission amended and repealed several rules on
July 1, 2023. Although all of the rules were not discussed
in this section, brokers may retrieve the most current
License Law and Commission rules by accessing the
Commission’s website using the following instructions:

go to www.ncrec.gov;

click on Resources;

click License Law/Rules;

click Chapter 58 under Rules; and

review Real Estate Commission rules in Chapter 58.

U A WN =
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ANSWERS TO DISCUSSION QUESTIONS

Newsroom Roundtable Discussion on page 105

1. What do you know about the process the Commission must follow to implement
rule changes?
Answer: Answers will vary.

2. What new rule changes have you heard about?
Answer: Answers will vary.

Interactive News Reporting on page 110

Can | get any CE credit for CCIM® courses, appraisal courses, or courses offered by the
REALTOR® Associations, such as GRI®?

a) No. CE credit will no longer be given for any of these courses.

Answer: If the course is approved by the NCREC and offered by a NCREC-
certified education provider, 4 hours of CE credit will be awarded upon
successful completion of the course. Also, a majority of these courses are
already approved. However, prior to registering for the course, NC
brokers must ensure that the course is approved by the North Carolina
Real Estate Commission and offered by a NCREC-certified education
provider.

b) You might, but you are going to have to make a special request to get CE
credit.

Answer: If the course is approved by the NCREC and offered by a NCREC-
certified education provider, 4 hours of CE credit will be automatically
awarded upon successful completion of the course. Also, a majority of
these courses are already approved. However, prior to registering for the
course, NC brokers must ensure that the course is approved by the North
Carolina Real Estate Commission and offered by a NCREC-certified
education provider.

c) Any course you take that lasts at least 4 hours provides CE credit.

Answer: A broker will only receive 4 hours of CE elective credit after the
successful completion of an already approved CE course that is offered
by a NCREC-certified education provider.

d) Yes. Many of these courses are already approved. They just have to be
submitted by the provider and you don’t have to file a special request or
pay $50 if NCREC has approved them.

Answer: Yes. However, prior to registering for the course, NC brokers
must ensure that the course is approved by the North Carolina Real Estate
Commission and offered by a NCREC-certified education provider. This is
advantageous to brokers because the education provider is responsible
for submitting their CE report to the Commission so that the Commission
can award the brokers CE credit.
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Also, brokers will not incur any additional costs for this information being
reported to the Commission because the course is already approved.
Brokers may find approved courses by:

e going to www.ncrec.gov;

e clicking on the Education menu;

e clicking on Search CE Course Schedule; and

e clicking on Search Providers.

Takin’ it to the Streets on page 111

Ashley, a broker with XYZ Homes, lives in Oklahoma. On June 6, 2023, Ashley
certified that she had an active license in Oklahoma when she renewed her
license. Therefore, under Commission rules in effect at that time, Ashley did not
have to take any continuing education in North Carolina to keep her NC license
on active status.

On May 17, 2024, she wants to certify that her license in Oklahoma is still on
active status while renewing her NC license so that she does not have to take NC
continuing education. Can she still do that?

Answer: No. See following questions for more detail.

Does it matter that Ashley is actively licensed in another state?
Answer: No. Ashley is no longer able to certify for North Carolina CE
credit that she has an active license in Oklahoma while renewing her NC
real estate license.

Does it matter what education she completed in Oklahoma?
Answer: No. According to Rule 58A .1702(a), all brokers with a NC real
estate license must take eight hours of continuing education courses
within one year prior to the expiration of their license. Specifically, Rule
58A .1702(b) requires a broker to take four hours of elective courses and
four hours of the General Update Course or the Broker-in-Charge Update
Course if the broker has BIC Eligible status.

Does it matter that she doesn’t live in NC?
Answer: No. According to Rule 58A .1702(a), all brokers with a NC real
estate license must take eight hours of continuing education courses
within one year prior to the expiration of their license. Specifically, Rule
58A .1702(b) requires a broker to take four hours of elective courses and
four hours of the General Update Course or the Broker-in-Charge Update
Course if the broker has BIC Eligible status.
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Interactive News Reporting on page 113

1. When a listing broker reviews the Residential Property and Owners’
Association Disclosure Statement (hereafter referred to as “RPOADS”) and
knows a seller’s statement is incorrect, what should the broker do?

a. Change the RPOADS and make the necessary corrections.
Answer: The RPOADS is a seller disclosure that must remain
accurate. Therefore, the seller-owner must complete the RPOADS
and make the necessary corrections. The broker cannot complete
the form; however, they can give the seller guidance on proper
completion of the form and the importance of maintaining the
accuracy of information. Additionally, the broker must discover
and disclose material facts about the property, instead of relying
on the RPOADS or the seller alone.

b. Listing brokers do not need to review the RPOADS.
Answer: The RPOADS is a seller disclosure that must remain
accurate. Therefore, the seller-owner must complete the RPOADS
and make the necessary corrections. The broker cannot complete
the form; however, they can give the seller guidance on proper
completion of the form and the importance of maintaining the
accuracy of information. Additionally, the broker must discover
and disclose material facts about the property, instead of relying
on the RPOADS or the seller alone.

c. Discuss the discrepancy with the seller, encourage them to correct it, and

make additional disclosure if necessary.

Answer: Correct. The RPOADS is a seller disclosure that must
remain accurate. Therefore, the seller-owner must complete
the RPOADS and make the necessary corrections. The broker
cannot complete the form; however, they can give the seller
guidance on proper completion of the form and the importance
of maintaining the accuracy of information. Additionally, the
broker must discover and disclose material facts about the
property, instead of relying on the RPOADS or the seller alone.

d. The broker does not need to do anything since the RPOADS contains the

seller’s representations.

Answer: The RPOADS is a seller disclosure that must remain
accurate. Therefore, the seller-owner must complete the RPOADS
and make the necessary corrections. The broker cannot complete
the form; however, they can give the seller guidance on proper
completion of the form and the importance of maintaining the
accuracy of information. Additionally, the broker must discover
and disclose material facts about the property, instead of relying
on the RPOADS or the seller alone.
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2. Which property transfer is exempt from providing an RPOADS?

a. Transfers involving the first sale of a dwelling never inhabited
Answer: Correct. According to N.C.G.S. 47E-2(b), a transfer
involving the first sale of a dwelling never inhabited is exempt
from the RPOADS disclosure requirement.

b. Transfers of residential rental property when the owner has never
occupied the property

Answer: According to N.C.G.S. 47E-2(b), a transfer of residential
rental property when the owner has never occupied the property is
not exempt from the RPOADS disclosure requirement.

c. Out of state sellers who do not currently live in the property

Answer: According to N.C.G.S. 47E-2(b), out of state sellers who do
not currently live in the property are not exempt from the RPOADS
disclosure requirement.

d. Transfers where the seller informs the buyer in writing that they are not
providing the document and clearly states that the property is being
transferred “as is”

Answer: According to N.C.G.S. 47E-2(b), transfers where the seller
informs the buyer in writing that they are not providing the document
and clearly state that the property is being transferred “as is” are not
exempt from the RPOADS disclosure requirement.

Takin’ it to the Streets on page 120

Stan is in the armed forces and a licensed real estate broker. While on active
duty in Miami, Stan went home to visit his family and friends. He failed to get
authorization from his commanding officer to leave the base. Once Stan returned
back to the base, he was arrested and later court martialed for taking
unauthorized leave. He was sentenced to 30 days in the Brig and forfeiture of a
month’s pay.

Does Stan have to report the military court-martial to the Commission?

a) No. Stan has not been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor.
Answer: Military court-martial convictions are reportable offenses
under Rule 58A .0113.
b) Yes. Stan must report the military court-martial conviction to the
Commission in accordance with Rule 58A .0113.
Answer: Correct. Military court-martial convictions are
reportable offenses under Rule 58A .0113.
c) No. Stan was not disciplined by an occupational licensing agency.
Answer: Military court-martial convictions are reportable offenses
under Rule 58A .0113.
d) Yes. Stan must report the military court-martial because he had to spend
30 days in the Brig and forfeit a month’s pay.
Answer: Military court-martial convictions are reportable offenses
under Rule 58A .0113.
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